Back to All Events


  • Burghof Lörrach Lörrach Germany (map)

Joel Frederiksen appears as Caronte in Monteverdi’s “L’Orfeo”

Monteverdi: L'Orfeo

Favola in Musica in fünf Akten mit Prolog
Konzertante Aufführung /Libretto: Alessandro Striggio

Orfeo – Gyula Orendt (Baritone)
Caronte – Joel Frederiksen (Bass)
La Musica/Euridice – Pia Davila (Soprano)
Ninfa/Echo – Franziska Eberhardt (Soprano)
Messagiera/Proserpina – Ida Aldrian (Alto)
La Speranza – Georg Bochow (Altus)
Pastore 1 – Christian Pohlers (Tenor)
Pastore 2 – Martin Platz (Tenor)
Plutone/Apollo – Cornelius Uhle (Bass)

lautten compagney BERLIN / Mus. Direction: Wolfgang Katschner

L'Orfeo (SV 318), sometimes called La favola d'Orfeo is a late Renaissance/early Baroque favola in musica, or opera, by Claudio Monteverdi, with a libretto by Alessandro Striggio. It is based on the Greek legend of Orpheus, and tells the story of his descent to Hades and his fruitless attempt to bring his dead bride Eurydice back to the living world. It was written in 1607 for a court performance during the annual Carnival at Mantua. While Jacopo Peri's Dafne is generally recognised as the first work in the opera genre, and the earliest surviving opera is Peri's Euridice, L'Orfeo is the earliest that is still regularly performed.

Sunday, 21 Juli 2019 – Burghof, Lörrach (STIMMEN-Festival)